iPod Touch and no Wireless Internet access?

Standard

Hypothetical situation: You are sitting at work and you have an iPod Touch.  You want to be able to connect the Touch to the internet, but your company only has wired internet access. 

Out of luck?  Not so fast.  Now there are dozens of forums out there for this type of information, but most of these forums are infested with socially maladjusted lurkers who are just waiting for you to ask a question as simple as “How do I connect an iPod Touch to the Net if there is no wireless connection?”  They will either tell you it can’t be done or that you should not be considering it in the first place.  You will never, ever get any useful answer from a forum. 

Here’s how it is done.  You will need a computer with a wired internet connection and you will need the administrative priveleges to modify Network Connection settings.  I am also assuming you have a Windows box…I know nothing about Mac’s.  Next, you will need a (preferably) USB based wireless internet card. 

Start by installing the wireless internet card.  I mention a USB based model because you probably don’t want to mess up your laptop or desktop’s wireless settings unless you absolutely have to.  Also, when your IT guy walks by, you can always yank the USB stick and act innocent :-)

So go to Network Connections from Control Panel and right click on the wireless device you just installed.  Choose properties.  On the Wireless Networks tab up top, click Advanced under Preferred Networks  Make the wireless device Computer-to-Computer (ad hoc) Networks Only.  Uncheck the box about connecting to non-preferred networks.  Now that you are back to the Wireless Networks dialog, click Add… under Preferred Networks.  Make up an SSID for the device you added and select WEP data encryption.  Put in a 5 digit passphrase for now.  Beef it up after this is working.

Now go back to Network Connections and right click on your wired Local Area Network connection.  Do Properties, Advanced and check the box on “Allow other network users to connect through this computer’s Internet Connection.”  Click OK.

On the iPod Touch, enable wireless and select the SSID of the wireless device you installed.  Emter your WEP passphrase.  You should now be connected to the net on your Touch through your wired connection!  If not, then I have probably left something out…the premise though is that you use ICS to share your primary wired internet connection.  By making your wireless card an ad-hoc computer to computer access point, your iPod should be able to connect to that device and share the wired connection.

Now…this is not a detailed walkthrough, but intended to show you that it IS possible to do the impossible.  Unfortunately, for every good thing humanity does, there is always an evil IT guy out there writing policies to make your life harder, less productive and more miserable.  So what I’m saying is that this may be against company policy…I don’t know.

5 responses »

  1. Yeah, I am commenting on my own post. One thing I found out is that ad-hoc connections seem to time out in periods of inactivity. Depending on the NIC, there may or may not be a way to keep the ad hoc (peer to peer) connection always active. I have not been successful getting either my on-board wireless nic or my usb model to keep an active connection. This, of course, mucks up online games who rely on a steady state connection to sync progress.

  2. Thank you very much. Now I can finally connect my ipod touch to the internet using this. My only problem is that I can’t seem to connect when I turn on data encryption. I need to disable it for it to connect which means anyone can connect as long as within range. (sorry for my English I’m from the Philippines by the way)

  3. I’ve had this working for my ipod touch for about 3 weeks but now it says when i access the internet on my ipod it says there is no connection what can i do to fix this?

  4. You are a lifesaver! I’ve been without a home wireless network for at least a week! Now, thanks to your advice, I can finish my Scrabble iPod games much more quickly!

    Thanks so much!

    Cynthia Chan

Leave a Reply

