I hate Twitter too!

Standard

I totally agree with this person’s blog: http://open.salon.com/blog/graysondavis/2009/03/04/i_hate_twitter

But I also hate Twitter for different reasons:

  1. You give up your right to privacy when you tweet, twinky ot twitterate.  Yet the same folks that use Twitter are often obsessed about keeping their lives private (HIPAA, SSN protection, etc.)
  2. Stability – Twitter Apocolypse?!  Pul-Leeeeze!  Another Y2K panic-attack documented and behind us now.  12/12/12 is next, folks.  Better stockpile freeze-dried food!
  3. It advances social avoidance and isolationism.  "I’d rather stay home and Twitter all night versus going out with my friends."
  4. We don’t need a play by play.  Twitter users might say…”Mitosis is the process in which a eukaryotic cell separates the chromosomes in its cell nucleus into two identical sets in two daughter nuclei.  It is generally followed immediately by cytokinesis, which divides the nuclei, cytoplasm, organelles and cell membrane into two daughter cells containing roughly equal shares of these cellular components.”  Non-Twitter users might simply say ‘cell division’.
  5. The “I Twitter because I can” mentality.  Well, I could climb the highest mountain if I set my mind to it…but I don’t want to.
  6. You need to Twitter FOR YOUR OWN GOOD.  Self-explanatory.
  7. Everyone is doing it!  Yes, I am sure that they are.  Everyone is sitting around Twittering when their country’s moral foundations are crumbling?!
  8. Twittering is cool, current, wired, hip, etc.  All of these terms for social acceptance originated from social outcasts! 
  9. It wastes time.  Shouldn’t you be working?  Did you just put 8 hours on your timecard?  Can you sleep at night?
  10. It makes me nervous.  The very first thing I thought about when I saw the Twitter craze shift gears was the marketeers, political organizations and Big Brother beefing up their spiders and parsing algorithms to mine more of your precious demographic data. 

I hate Twitter too.

4 responses »

  1. Twitter is bad if it is a substitute for humanity. Computer games, and, other isolationist items like even ATM’s…allow humans to avoid contact. Even the drive thru window at fast food is often done without eye contact. If Twitter is used to update (by definition) then it can be good. For example, I spent the last 4 days 5 hours away at my tennis USTA Sectional Championships…it would be handy to type one update and have 40 friends that cared about me receive these updates and make it easier than typing 40 separate emails on a smart phone. Any other reason and it is becomes inane….even dumb when you tell people that no one at all is home so you can rob me blind if you want to. I will perhaps receive a tweet that will tell me another reason to twitter is good….but until then I cannot think of any others.

  2. Didn’t hear that, but it is not at all surprising. People put their intimate details out there using these venues and then complain about ID theft, lack of privacy, etc. I can agree with putting some info out there…like The Hawk was talking about…but some people are just foolhardy.

Leave a Reply

